Today

Monday, 20th Mar 2017

Today in the morning Owen's friend came to visit to see our new baby. In the afternoon we took baby to the hospital for more jaundice checkup, and they took ages to get her blood sample while she wailed and screamed in pain. We were both traumatised by the experience and now she seemed unsettled and unhappy all night and day. They broke her!

Sunday, 19th Mar 2017

Today I still didn't get much sleep, but we went to Witney anyway, and Owen was quite happy. When we came back, both children fell asleep in the car and napped till dinner time.

Friday, 17th Mar 2017

Today I was still feeling chills and tingling, and baby was still not feeding well. A bit worried about her. On the plus side, I've finally managed to get her to sleep in her crib (and not on me).

Thursday, 16th Mar 2017

Today I felt ill and tired, might be coming down with a cold, and baby seemed ill too and was refusing to feed.

Tuesday, 14th Mar 2017

Today we had to take baby to have her jaundice level checked again. Afterwards we went to pick Owen up at preschool and showed off our new baby.

Monday, 13th Mar 2017

Today I finally got to stay home all day! It was a lovely sunny day, and was quite relaxing. Owen was mostly happy and good and I didn't get angry or sad.

Sunday, 12th Mar 2017

Today we went to Chipping Norton for lunch and then to the midwives for a checkup. Owen was very happy all day.

Saturday, 11th Mar 2017

Today we went to Witney with our 2 children, and it wasn't too bad. Grandma came down to meet us later on and stayed the weekend.

Friday, 10th Mar 2017

Today baby seemed to have finished her growth spurt and started to sleep longer and settle better. Quite a nice relaxing day for me!

Thursday, 9th Mar 2017

Today baby finally had her first yellow poop. We went to see the midwife and we're told her jaundice is now better. Afterwards we went to Jaffe & Neale for coffee, cake and sketching.

Wednesday, 8th Mar 2017

Today grandpa went back home after helping us out for a week. In the evening Owen was quite happy again and I spent some time reading to him.

Tuesday, 7th Mar 2017

Today I felt sad about being annoyed with Owen when he was rough and loud, and difficult, and felt like I was going to crack under the sleep deprivation. Still been up almost all night and most of the day feeding baby who wouldn't unlatch even when asleep.

Monday, 6th Mar 2017

Today Peter took Owen to see Nick Cope in Oxford. But when Owen got back, he looked sad and finally admitted that he felt sad because of baby sister, but wouldn't tell me more.

Sunday, 5th Mar 2017

Today went to see the midwives for our 5 days postnatal checks. Afterwards we went to Jaffe & Neale for coffee, cake, and quick sketch, and baby sleeping soundly all this time!

Saturday, 4th Mar 2017

Today baby had been screaming at night and wouldn't breastfeed, we had to call the midwives in desperation. In the end it turned out she was just gassy. In the afternoon Peter took Owen to Witney to get baby a present.

Friday, 3rd Mar 2017

Today grandpa departed to see Peter's sister's baby (born yesterday!). I finally got to play with Owen (who came home from nursery face-painted as The Incredible Hulk), and catch up with various communications and social media.

Thursday, 2nd Mar 2017

Today I was sleep deprived from feeding baby all night. Peter's sister gave birth to a baby girl today!

Wednesday, 1st Mar 2017

Today I spent most of the day recovering from childbirth at the hospital, and got discharged in the evening.